About Us

List of Major Power Failures

December 9, 1995
Maharashtra, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Goa; due to collapse of the Jabbalpur-Itarsi power line.
November 14, 1995
Western Maharashtra except within city limits of Bombay and its eastern suburbs; due to tripping of MSEB Chandrapur-Bhusaval line.
November 10, 1995
Western Maharashtra except within city limits of Bombay; due to bus fault in the NTPC Bhilai station.
July 31, 1995
Bombay, Thane, Nashik, Aurangabad; due to burning of isolator at Kalwa receiving station.
May 1, 1995
Bombay, Thane, Raigad, Nashik, Jalgaon; due to tripping of 400 KV line at Indore.
April 19, 1995
Entire Maharashtra, barring Bombay; due to disturbance on the 400 KV line at Indore.
February 12, 1992
Bombay; due to snag at TEC power station in Trombay.
October 25, 1991
Bombay, Thane, Nashik; due to disturbance in the 400 KV line at Indore.
November 24, 1990
Bombay, western Maharashtra, parts of Karnataka and Goa; due to insulation failure at Kalwa receiving station.
August 17, 1989
Maharashtra, Gujarat;
July 14, 1983
Bombay and parts of Western Maharashtra; due to mismatching of state electricity grid.
November 20, 1981
Entire Maharashtra; due to strike by subordinate engineers' association.

Source: Nov 18, 1995. Times of India, Bombay

© Copyright and disclaimer.