About Us

Library >> Renewable Energy Resource Maps >> Africa >> Geothermal >> Djibouti

Geothermal Energy in Djibouti

Djibouti lies at the junction of three active, major coastal spreading centers: the Eastern Africa Rift zone, which extends south-southwestward from Djibouti through Kenya and north-northwestward through Eritrea to the Red Sea; the Red Sea Rift, which extends northward beneath the Red Sea, the Gulf of Aqaba, and the Dead Sea and terminates in northern Syria; and the Gulf of Aden and its westward extensions into Djibouti - the Gulf of Tadjourah and the Ghoubbet el Kharab.

This structural junction is unique, being the focal point of very high heat flux. Although direct measurements are unavailable, it is undoubtedly among the highest heat fluxes on earth (ENEL/ DPT 1990). The rift zone is still expanding by about one mm per year. The last volcanic eruption occured in 1978 when the Ardoukoba volcano erupted.

According to a recent study by the Geothermal Energy Association (Reed, 1999), the geothermal potential in Djibouti is between 230 MW and 860 MW from a number of prosepcts.



Algeria | Angola | Burkina Faso | Benin | Botswana | Burundi | Cameroon | Cape Verde | Central African Republic | Chad | Comoros | Congo | Côte d'Ivoire | Djibouti | Equatorial Guinea | Eritrea | Ethiopia | Gabon | Gambia | Ghana | Guinea | Guines-Bissau | Kenya | Lesotho | Liberia | Lybia | Madagascar | Malawi | Mali | Mauritania | Mauritius | Morocco | Mozambique | Namibia | Niger | Nigeria | Rwanda | São Tomé and Príncipe | Senegal | Seychelles | Sierra Leone | Somalia | South Africa | Sudan | Swaziland | Tanzania | Togo | Tunisia | Uganda | Zambia | Zimbabwe

Related GENI Resources
Definition Geothermal Energy
Current Articles on Renewable Energy Resources and Transmission

National Energy Grid Maps

AFREC (African Energy Commission)
AFREPREN/ FWD - Energy, Environment and Development Network for Africa
WEC - Energy Geography of Africa
African Development Bank Group (ADFB)